Oncology, hematology physicians, researchers elected to National Academy of Medicine

October 14, 2023

2 min read

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The National Academy of Medicine announced the election of 90 regular members and 10 international members.

Election to the academy — considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine — recognizes individuals who demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Graphic with quote from Victor J. Dzau, MD

“It is my honor to welcome this truly exceptional class of new members to the National Academy of Medicine,” Victor J. Dzau, MD, president of National Academy of Medicine, said in a press release. “Their contributions to health and medicine are unparalleled, and their leadership and expertise will be essential to helping the [academy] tackle today’s urgent health challenges, inform the future of health care, and ensure health equity for the benefit of all around the globe.”

The academy now has more than 2,400 members, including 198 international members.

Newly elected members recognized for contributions related to hematology and oncology include:

Daniel G. Anderson, PhD, professor in the department of chemical engineering and Institute for Medical Engineering and Science at Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT;

Bradley Bernstein, MD, PhD, chair of cancer biology and Richard and Nancy Lubin family chair at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute;

John D. Carpten, PhD

John D. Carpten

John D. Carpten, PhD, chief scientific officer at City of Hope;

Timothy A. Chan, MD, PhD, chair of Global Center for Immunotherapy and Precision Immuno-Oncology; Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak Chair; and professor of medicine at Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University;

Luis Alberto Diaz Jr., MD, head of the division of solid tumor oncology in the department of medicine at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center;

Kojo Seys John Elenitoba-Johnson, MD, inaugural chair of the department of pathology and laboratory medicine at Memorial Hospital/Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center;

Darrell J. Irvine, PhD, Underwood-Prescott professor in the department of biological engineering and department of materials science and engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

Steven D. Leach, MD, professor of molecular and systems biology, surgery and medicine; Preston T. and Virginia R. Kelsey distinguished chair in cancer; and director of Dartmouth Cancer Center at Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine;

Miriam Merad, MD, PhD, chair of the department of immunology and immunotherapy, as well as director of Precision Immunology Institute at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai;

Siddhartha Mukherjee, MD, DPhil, associate professor of medicine in the department of medicine within the division of oncology at Columbia University of Medicine;

Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO

Lisa A. Newman

Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, professor of surgery, chief of the breast surgery section, and executive director and founder of International Center for the Study of Breast Cancer Subtypes at Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital Network;

Brent R. Stockwell, PhD, of Columbia University Irving Medical Center;

Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, director of Abramson Cancer Center; John H. Glick Abramson Cancer Center director’s professor; vice dean of cancer programs at Perelman School of Medicine; and vice president of cancer programs at University of Pennsylvania Health System;

Photo of Jennifer Wargo

Jennifer A. Wargo

Jennifer A. Wargo, MD, MMSc, R. Lee Clark endowed professor of surgical oncology and genomic medicine, and founder and director of the Platform for Innovative Microbiome and Translational Research at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center;

Jedd Wolchok, MD, PhD, FASCO

Jedd D. Wolchok

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, director of Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medicine; and

Yi Zhang, PhD, Fred S. Rosen chair of the department of pediatrics at Boston Children’s Hospital; professor in the department of genetics at Harvard Medical School; and associate member of Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard.

#Oncology #hematology #physicians #researchers #elected #National #Academy #Medicine
Image Source : www.healio.com

Leave a Comment