Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society welcomes 34 T.H. Chan School of Medicine students

The 34 new student members of the Delta chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society are joined by Terence Flotte, MD (far right).

The Delta chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society welcomed 34 students from the T.H. Chan School of Medicine Class of 2024 during an induction ceremony on Wednesday, Oct. 11.

“We are proud of you and what you’ve accomplished,” said Terence R. Flotte, MD, the Celia and Isaac Haidak Professor, executive deputy chancellor, provost and dean of the T.H. Chan School of Medicine and the chapter’s councilor. “We are humbled by what you have done when we read your resumes and your list of accomplishments within our school. Our anticipation of what you will do for all the suffering people you encounter in the coming years is an inspiration to us all. You have the potential to do so much good.”

Anne Garrison, MD, assistant professor of obstetrics & gynecology and associate dean for student affairs, said the entire class is high achieving.

“How does the selection committee take a class of 168 outstanding students and decide on 34? I can tell you all of these students met the academic standards,” said Dr. Garrison.

Members are selected based on achievement, professionalism, humanism, equity and inclusion.

Student inductees were recognized for contributions such as working as clinic coordinators and helping families in need of pediatric palliative care.

“I am honored by the company of my peers,” said medical student Cooper Scherr, recognized for his service as a primary coordinator and leader of the St. Peter’s Free Medical Program. “When we come into medical school, we’re surrounded by people who are committed to excellence. To be recognized as part of a group that’s achieving with the best of the best in our class is humbling and speaks to the work that everyone’s putting in to get to this point.” He said he hopes to enter the internal medicine field, specializing in pulmonary and critical care.

Medical student Alexis Watson was recognized for her work as a mentor program leader for students at Worcester Technical High School as well as her work as a student leader for AIDS Project Worcester. Watson said, “It’s just incredible to hear everyone’s achievements. It’s wonderful that we’re surrounded by so many great people.” She said she hopes to enter the med-peds field, which encompasses newborn to geriatric populations.

Six faculty, 15 house staff members (interns, residents and fellows) and two alumni were also inducted.

“This is incredibly special to be recognized with all these amazing students, residents and faculty,” said Elizabeth Murphy, MD, associate professor of medicine. “It’s a great award that comes 30 years after my medical school graduation. And I think it makes it extra special to be nominated by colleagues and supported by my department.”

“It’s amazing,” continued Dr. Murphy. “I came here for my residency in 1995 and I’ve had my entire career here. I mentor and teach the students and residents here. It’s like a second family and I can’t imagine being anywhere else. I know I’ll finish my career here.”

The 2024 AOA inductees are:

Dina Blanter
Victoria Bothwick
Kristina Brewer
Emmanuel Budis
Joshua Cohen
Naaz Daneshvar
Christopher Fay
Golda Grinberg
Elyssa Harris
Tyler Healy
Camila Hernandez
Michelle Hillman
Kamryn Jebb
Irena Kuzma
Vincent La
Rose May
Katelyn McCann
Marie McGourty
Daniel Alexander Morrison
Nicholas Peterson
Benjamin Potee
Alex Richard
Colin Rivet
Michael Rogalski
Katherine Salley
Lauren Scarpetti
Cooper Scherr
Evelyn Semenov
Fiona Splaine
Rebecca Sullivan
Sarah Uhranowsky
Alexis Watson
Nathan Yee
Christopher Zoppo

Deepika Devuni, MD
Anna Luisa Kuhn, MD, PhD
Anne Larkin, MD
Heidi Leftwich, DO
Christine MacGinnis, DO
Elizabeth Murphy, MD

Mark Manning, DO
Tara Chute, MD

House staff
Leona AlSayah, MD
Hannah Buettner, MD
Thomas Cervantes, MD
Seyedeh Cheraghi, MD
George Ciociolo, MD
Kathryn Delaney, MD
Wyatt DeLomba, MD
Max Hazeltine, MD
Vaibhav Jain, MD
Ovninder Johal, MD
Kristopher Kelly, MD
Eric Nielsen, MD
Aniket Pandya, MD
Andrew Sheridan, MD
Shravan Sivakumar, MBBS

#Alpha #Omega #Alpha #Honor #Medical #Society #welcomes #T.H #Chan #School #Medicine #students
Image Source :

Leave a Comment